Waterboro Budget Committee 2021-2022 Budget Meeting Minutes February 18, 2021- 5:30 pm Zoom Meeting

<u>Attendance</u>: James Southworth, John Burrows, Thomas Lee, Diane Seehagen, Dennis Abbott, Gary Lamb, Julie Giles, David Lowe, and Laura Lowe. Budget Committee member Jedidiah Young was absent.

The meeting started at 5:30 p.m. with opening remarks by Gary Lamb:

- 1. Jedidiah Young is still absent due to his work situation.
- 2. Sharon Reed, tax collector has given her resignation as she will be retiring. We may have an internal candidate.
- 3. Gary Lamb asked the attending Budget Committee members if they would like to vote on a chair this evening.

John Burrows made a motion for Jim Southworth to continue as chair on the Budget Committee. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 - 0.

Chairman Southworth was moderator of the meeting and went through each section of the budget with the committee. The following is a listing of these votes:

- Section 10 General Government : John Burrows made a motion to accept the amount of \$430,755 for General Government. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.
- Section 13 Leases/Debt Service: John Burrows made a motion to accept the amount of \$325,803 for Leases/Debt Service. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.
- Section 15 Insurances/Benefits: This section was not voted on tonight as the committee decided they needed more information on the Fire Department's retirement if they switch to another plan that they have been looking at.
- Section 20 Town Clerk:
 Thomas Lee made a motion to accept the amount of \$69,412 for the Town Clerk. Jim Southworth seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 0.
- 5. Section 25 Tax Collector:

This section was not voted on as the person filling the person will be changing due to the employee in this position is interested in the Tax Collector position that is opening up due to Sharon Reed's retirement.

6. Section 30 – Treasurer:

John Burrows made a motion to accept the amount of \$69,065 and Thomas Lee seconded the motion. Thomas Lee then voided his second and made a motion to accept \$70,396 for the treasurer. Jim Southworth seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 - 0.

7. Section 32 – IT Department:

John Burrows made a motion to accept \$131,500 for the IT Dept. Diane Seehagen seconded the motion. The motion passed 3 - 0 -1 with Jim Southworth abstaining as he is part of the IT Department and cannot vote.

- Section 35 Municipal Buildings: Thomas Lee made a motion to accept \$88,500 for Municipal Buildings. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.
- Section 40 Tax Assessor: Jim Southworth made a motion to accept \$67,750 for the Tax Assessor. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.
- 10. Section 45 Code Enforcement: John Burrows made a motion to accept \$90,025 for Code Enforcement. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.
- 11. Section 50 Library:
 John Burrows made a motion to accept \$117,980 for the Library. Jim Southworth seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 0.
- 12. Section 55 Recreation

John Burrows made a motion to accept \$338,400 for Recreation. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 3 – 1. (Diane Seehagen)

- 13. Section 60 Planning Board:
 Diane Seehagen made a motion to accept \$7,850 for the Planning Board. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 0.
- 14. Section 62 Planning Department:
 Jim Southworth made a motion to accept 101,930 for the Planning Department. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 0.
- 15. Section 65 Zoning Board of Appeals:
 John Burrows made a motion to accept \$3,550 for the Zoning Board of Appeals.
 Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 3 0 1. With Jim Southworth abstaining as he is on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

The Board ended here for the evening.

John Burrows made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Thomas Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 - 0.

The meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.