Waterboro Charter Review Commission <u>Minutes</u> December 5, 2011

Present: Chairman: Todd Abbott, Dianne Holden, Douglas Foglio, Sr., Dwayne Woodsome, Willis Lord, James Carll and Steve Ross. Absent: Scott Ohman

Call to Order: 7:03 PM

Correspondence: None

New Business:

<u>Approval of November 21, 2011 Minutes</u>: Steve made the motion to accept as written. Todd seconded. Voted, passed.

<u>Questionnaire on Town website</u>: Todd feels that a brief paragraph of explanation is needed on each question (ie: Administrator: current job description vs. having more managerial duties and authority.) Agreed that there should be a comments/suggestion box at the bottom the questionnaire. Questionnaire will contain the same questions used at the Nov. 7, 2011 Public Hearing. Administrator's duties vs. Town Manager; elected or appointed Road Commissioner, should title be changed to Public Works Director and have authority over both the roads and transfer station; budget approval – open Annual Town Meeting or vote budget by referendum (ballot); and Board of Selectmen – continue with a 5 member board or change back to a 3 member board. Todd suggested that a word could be highlighted and one could click it in order to obtain more information – ie: Road Commission – highlight 'elected' and 'appointed'. The Town's ID Manager, Dave Lowe will be invited to the next meeting to discuss the questionnaire.

<u>Opinion Poll</u>: Agreed to discuss later and if felt it should be done, will conduct at June Annual Town Meeting election.

<u>Next Meeting Date:</u> Doug made the motion that due to the holidays, our next meeting will be held on **January 16, 2012**. Jim seconded. Voted, passed.

<u>Discuss Statutory Town Manager Plan:</u> Agreed to stay with 'Administrator' with duties and authority changes and not go with Town Manager at this time.

Begin to Draft New Charter: Tabled for future meeting.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 8:40 PM. Motioned by Doug, seconded by Willis. Voted, passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Dianne Holden, Committee Secretary